General Terms and Conditions

General Terms and Conditions of
Translex Büro für juristische Fachübersetzungen GmbH

1.

Scope of Services

1.1
Unless otherwise agreed in writing the following terms and conditions shall apply to our services:
1.2
The Customer undertakes to inform Translex Büro für juristische Fachübersetzungen GmbH (hereinafter referred to as "Translex") about the purpose for which he intends to use the translation, e.g. whether it is intended
1.2.1
for information only,
1.2.2
publication and advertising,
1.2.3
for legal purposes or patent proceedings,
1.2.4
or any other purpose for which a specific translation of the texts by the translator commissioned with the work is of importance.
1.3
The Customer shall only be entitled to use the translation for the purpose indicated. If the Customer uses the translation for a purpose other than the one for which it was ordered and delivered, the Customer shall not be entitled to any claims for damages vis-à-vis Translex.
1.4
Any other use in a context which differs materially from the context originally indicated or multiple use of the translation shall be subject to Translex's consent and may be made subject to payment of a reasonable fee, in particular if a financial profit is or is planned to be gained through distribution of the text (e.g., if the text is printed in a publication, broadcast via radio or TV, in the case of multiple use, e.g., as a form, for publication on the internet, etc.).
1.5
If Translex is not informed about the purpose of the translation, Translex shall make the translation according to its best knowledge for the purpose of information (see Clause 1.2.1).
1.6
Unless otherwise agreed Translex shall deliver the translation via electronic mail (e-mail) in Microsoft Word format or as a pdf file.
1.7
Unless otherwise agreed the provisions of item 6.3 of DIN [German Industrial Standard] 2345 ("Translation Orders") shall apply with respect to formal requirements.
1.8
If the Customer wants specific terminology to be used he shall so inform Translex and at the same time deliver the documents required therefor. This shall apply accordingly to language variants.
1.9
Customer shall be exclusively responsible for the contents and linguistic correctness of the source language text.
1.10
Translex shall be entitled to pass on the order to third parties having equal qualifications. However, Translex shall remain the exclusive contractor. Customer undertakes not to contact the third party (translator) without Translex's express consent.
1.11

The name of the contractor (Translex Büro für juristische Fachübersetzungen GmbH) may only be added to a published translation if the entire text was translated by it and if only changes were made which were approved by Translex.

2.

Fees

2.1
The translation fees are calculated according to the prices of Translex applicable from time to time.
Translation fees will be calculated according to the number of characters of a text in the target language expressed in pages, with one (1) page consisting of 30 lines at 55 characters each.
The minimum price per order is EUR 50 exclusive of VAT.
2.2
Services requiring more than normal word processing will be charged as agreed (e.g. if the original is delivered in a special file format; if a special graphic format requiring a special software is requested by the Customer).
2.3
The target text (result of translating) shall be the basis for calculation unless a lump-sum fee has been agreed upon.
2.4
Our written cost estimates shall be prepared according to best expert knowledge. However, we shall assume no warranty for correctness of cost estimates.
The Customer shall in any case be obliged to pay the actual cost of the translation calculated according to Clause 2.1.
2.5
Unless otherwise agreed Translex shall be entitled to charge reasonable prices for changes of the order and additional orders.
2.6
For proofreading of third-party translations either the full fee for an initial translation or an hourly fee may be charged.
2.7

Reasonable surcharges may be charged for express translations or translations over the weekend. Usually the surcharge amounts to 20% for translations within 48 hours and 50 to 100% for translations which are delivered within 24 hours or on the date of receipt of the order. In case of large-scale orders reasonable surcharges as well as the delivery period shall be agreed separately for express translations or translations over the weekend. Additional surcharges shall be invoiced for multiple use of translations (e.g., forms of contract), publications and provision of the translation on the internet.

3.

Delivery

3.1
With respect to the period of delivery of the translation the written statements of either party shall be relevant. If the delivery date is of essential importance to the order accepted by Translex, the Customer shall explicitly inform Translex thereof in advance.
A prerequisite for being able to meet the delivery date shall be timely receipt of all documents to be provided by the Customer (e.g. source language texts and all necessary background information) as well as compliance with the agreed payment conditions and other obligations.
If these prerequisites are not fulfilled in time the delivery period shall be extended accordingly.
3.2
In case the delivery date is not met the Customer shall only be entitled to rescind the contract if a fixed delivery period was expressly agreed upon (see Clause 3.1, first paragraph) and if the Customer has fulfilled all prerequisites described in the second paragraph of Clause 3.1. Claims for damages on the part of the Customer shall be excluded with the exception of damage caused by wilful intent or gross negligence.
3.3
Unless otherwise agreed the translation shall be delivered by email.
3.4
The risks involved in delivery shall be borne by Customer.
3.5
Except as otherwise agreed the documents provided to Translex by Customer shall remain with Translex upon completion of the translation. Translex shall not be obliged to keep or otherwise deal with the same, however, it shall ensure that the documents cannot be used in violation of the contract.
3.6

All documents delivered shall remain the property of Translex until the bill of fees for the service rendered has been fully settled. The Customer assigns the purchase price claim to Translex upon any sale of the delivered documents.

4.

Force Majeure

4.1
Translex shall immediately notify the Customer if and when an event of force majeure occurs. In the event of forcemajeure both Translex and the Customer shall have the right to rescind the contract. Nevertheless the Customer shall reimburse Translex any and all expenses incurred for services rendered so far.
4.2

Events of force majeure shall include but not be limited to:
accident; labour disputes; acts of war; civil war; occurrence of unforeseeable obstacles which decisively impair Translex's ability to carry out the order as agreed.

5.

Liability for Defects (Warranty)

5.1
Any notification of defects concerning the quality of the translation shall be made within four weeks of delivery (e-mailing) of the translation. Customer shall explain defects in reasonable detail in writing and provide evidence thereof. Hidden defects shall be notified immediately after they have been noticed, but in no case later than within two years of delivery.
5.2
The Customer shall grant Translex a reasonable period and an opportunity to improve the translation. If he refuses to do so, Translex shall be released from any liability for defects. If Translex remedies the defects within the reasonable period of time granted to it, the Customer shall not be entitled to any reduction in the price.
5.3
If Translex fails to remedy the defect within the reasonable period of time granted to it, the Customer may rescind the contract or demand a reduction in the price. If the Customer rescinds the contract he shall return to Translex all translations made by Translex and shall neither use nor exploit the same in any way whatsoever. In the case of minor defects the right of rescission or to a price reduction shall be excluded.
5.4
Warranty claims shall not entitle the Customer to retain agreed payments or offset claims.
5.5
If it is intended that the translation be used in printed works Translex shall only be liable for defects if, in his order, the Customer explicitly states that he intends to publish the text and if Translex is provided with the proofs (correction by the author) including that version of the text to which no more changes will be made. In such a case Translex shall be paid reasonable consideration for proofreading or a reasonable hourly fee to be invoiced by Translex.
5.6
No liability for defects is assumed for translation of originals which are difficult to read, illegible or incomprehensible. This shall also apply to proofreading of translations as described under Clauses 2.6 and 5.5.
5.7
Improvements in style or harmonisation of specific terminology (in particular of terms which are typical of a particular industry or of a business enterprise, etc.) will not be recognised as defects of the translation.
5.8
No liability for defects exists for abbreviations which are specific to the order and were not explained by Customer at the time the order was placed.
5.9
Translex shall not be liable for correct transcription of names or addresses in case of originals which are not written in Latin characters. In such a case the Customer is recommended to spell names on a separate sheet in capital Latin letters and scan this sheet and send it to Translex via email in pdf format, as a tif file or a JPEG file. This shall also apply to names, addresses and numbers in vital records or documents and other documents that are difficult to read.
5.10
Numbers will only be stated according to the original. No liability will be assumed for conversion of numbers, measurements, currencies or the like.
5.11
Unless they are returned together with the translation Translex shall be liable for manuscripts, originals and the like provided by Customer as a custodian within the meaning of the Austrian General Civil Code [ABGB] for a period of four weeks after completion of the order.
Translex shall not be obliged to take out insurance for that purpose. With respect to returning the documents Clause 3.5 shall apply accordingly.
5.12
Translex shall not be liable for translators and interpreters provided by it except for damage caused by wilful intent or gross negligence in selecting the same.
5.13
Translex shall not be liable for proofreading services as described under Clause 2.6 if the source language text is not made available.
5.14

If translations are transmitted by data transfer (such as e-mail) Translex shall not be liable for defects and impairments resulting therefrom (such as viruses, violation of secrecy obligations) unless Translex acted with gross negligence. Customer expressly agrees that all correspondence from Translex may be sent via e-mail despite the general security risks involved in email transmissions.

6.

Damages

6.1
Unless otherwise provided by law all claims for damages vis-à-vis Translex shall be limited to the (net) amount invoiced. Damage caused by gross negligence or wilful intent shall be excluded from this limitation. Liability for lost profit and consequential damages shall be excluded, unless otherwise prescribed by mandatory statutory provisions.
6.2

Claims for damages shall in any event be limited to an amount of EUR 10,000.

7.

Payment

7.1
Unless otherwise agreed payment shall be made in cash at the time the translation is handed over to the Customer or immediately upon receipt of the bill of fees by bank transfer into the bank account advised by Translex.
Translex is entitled to ask for a reasonable payment on account. In the case of large-scale translation orders Translex may also ask for advance payment of the total contract value. The Customer shall be advised thereof before the translation work is commenced. Translex is entitled to wait until the payment on account has been received in full before starting any translation work. If it has been agreed that the Customer will collect the translation and if he fails to do so in time, the Customer's payment obligation shall commence as of the day the translation is made available for collection.
7.2
In the case of default in payment Translex shall be entitled to retain the documents provided (e.g. manuscripts to be translated). In the case of default in payment interest at a rate of 9.2% above the base rate will be charged. For consumer transactions the statutory interest rate of 4% applies.
7.3

If the terms of payment agreed between the Customer and Translex are not complied with, Translex shall be entitled to suspend working on the orders placed with it until the Customer fulfils his payment obligations. This shall also apply to orders with fixed delivery dates (see Clause 3.1). If the value of the payment obligation is substantially lower than the value of the original document, retention shall only be possible up to the value of the payment obligation.
Suspension of work shall not entitle the Customer to any legal claims; and Translex shall in no way be prejudiced in its rights.

8.

Copyright

8.1
Translex shall not be obliged to check whether the Customer is entitled to translate or have the source texts translated but Translex shall be entitled to assume that the Customer is entitled to all those rights vis-à-vis third parties which are required for performance of the order. The Customer expressly represents that it holds all those rights.
8.2
The Customer shall only acquire those rights which are in line with the intended use indicated. In the case of publications Translex shall in any case be reasonably stated as the author of the translation.
8.3

The Customer shall be obliged to indemnify Translex against any and all claims asserted by third parties on the grounds of infringement of copyrights, rights related to copyrights, other industrial property rights or personal rights. This shall also apply if the Customer fails to inform Translex about the intended use and/or uses the translation for purposes other than the purpose indicated.
Translex undertakes to immediately notify the Customer of such claims and in the case of legal action Translex shall give the Customer notice of intervention. If upon notification of intervention the Customer fails to join the proceedings as Translex's joint litigant, Translex shall be entitled to accept the claim of the plaintiff and to recover its loss from the Customer irrespective of whether the claim accepted was lawful or not.

9.

Obligation to Maintain Secrecy

 

Translex shall be obliged to maintain secrecy. It shall ensure that persons commissioned by it will undertake to maintain secrecy as well. Translex shall not be liable in the case that the person(s) commissioned by it fail(s) to comply with this obligation, except in cases of gross negligence in selecting the same.

10.

Place of Performance, Applicable Law, Place of Jurisdiction

 

The place of performance shall be Vienna. Austrian law shall be applicable and the conflict of laws rules of Austrian law and UN sales law and the conflict of laws rules of the same shall be excluded. The legal venue shall be the court having jurisdiction over the subject matter and over the 1st District of Vienna unless otherwise provided for by mandatory provisions of the Austrian Consumer Protection Act [Konsumentenschutzgesetz]. As regards Customers outside the EEA Translex shall be free to bring an action before a general court at the place of the Customer's registered office instead of before the court agreed above or to resort to arbitration in accordance with the Rules of the International Arbitral Centre of the Austrian Federal Economic Chamber (VIAC) (Vienna Rules), and the Customer expressly submits to this choice of legal venue and, at Translex's option, also to this choice of arbitration.

11.

Severability

 

Even if individual provisions of the contract are legally ineffective, the remaining provisions of the contract shall remain binding.

 

Revised: March 2014

Download PDF File or Microsoft Word File

 

Translex Büro für juristische Fachübersetzungen GmbH
Siebensterngasse 16
1070 Vienna
Phone + 43 1 526 84 78
Fax + 43 1 526 84 89
E-mail: translex@translex.at
Web: www.translex.at

AGB

Allgemeine Geschäftsbedingungen der
Translex Büro für juristische Fachübersetzungen GmbH

1.

Umfang der Leistung

1.1
Für den Umfang der Leistung gelten, sofern nichts anderes schriftlich vereinbart ist, die folgenden Bedingungen.
1.2
Der Auftraggeber verpflichtet sich, der Translex Büro für juristische Fachübersetzungen GmbH, in der Folge kurz "Translex" genannt, mitzuteilen, wofür er die Übersetzung verwenden will, z.B. ob sie
1.2.1
nur der Information,
1.2.2
der Veröffentlichung und Werbung,
1.2.3
für rechtliche Zwecke oder Patentverfahren,
1.2.4
oder irgendeinem anderen Zweck dienen soll, bei dem eine besondere Übersetzung der Texte durch den damit befassten Übersetzer von Bedeutung ist.
1.3
Der Auftraggeber darf die Übersetzung nur zu dem angegebenen Zweck verwenden. Für den Fall, dass der Auftraggeber die Übersetzung für einen anderen Zweck verwendet als den, für den sie in Auftrag gegeben und geliefert wurde, hat der Auftraggeber keinerlei Ansprüche auf Schadenersatz gegen Translex.
1.4
Die weitere Verwendung in einem wesentlich anderen als dem ursprünglich genannten Zusammenhang oder eine Mehrfachverwendung ist von der Zustimmung von Translex abhängig und kann von der Bezahlung eines angemessenen Honorars abhängig gemacht werden, insbesondere dann, wenn durch die Verbreitung des Textes wirtschaftlicher Gewinn erzielt wird oder werden soll (z.B. wenn ein Text in einer Veröffentlichung abgedruckt wird, im Radio oder im Fernsehen gesendet wird, bei multipler Nutzung, z.B. als Formular, bei Veröffentlichungen im Internet etc.).
1.5
Wird der Zweck einer Übersetzung Translex nicht bekannt gegeben, so hat Translex die Übersetzung nach ihrem besten Wissen zum Zwecke der Information (siehe Punkt 1.2.1) auszuführen.
1.6
Übersetzungen sind von Translex, so nichts anderes vereinbart ist, mittels elektronischer Post (E-Mail) im Format Microsoft Word oder als pdf-Datei zu liefern.
1.7
Ist nichts anderes vereinbart, so gelten für die formale Gestaltung die Regelungen des Punktes 6.3 der DIN 2345 ("Übersetzungsaufträge").
1.8
Sofern der Auftraggeber die Verwendung einer bestimmten Terminologie wünscht, muss er dies Translex bei gleichzeitiger Übermittlung der dafür erforderlichen Unterlagen bekannt geben. Dies gilt auch für Sprachvarianten.
1.9
Die fachliche und sprachliche Richtigkeit des Ausgangstextes fällt ausschließlich in die Verantwortlichkeit des Auftraggebers.
1.10
Translex hat das Recht, den Auftrag an gleich qualifizierte Dritte weiterzugeben. In diesem Falle bleibt Translex jedoch ausschließlicher Auftragnehmer. Der Auftraggeber verpflichtet sich, den Dritten (Übersetzer) ohne ausdrückliche Zustimmung von Translex nicht zu kontaktieren.
1.11

Der Name des Auftragnehmers (Translex Büro für juristische Fachübersetzungen GmbH) darf nur dann der veröffentlichten Übersetzung beigefügt werden, wenn der gesamte Text von diesem übersetzt wurde und ausschließlich Änderungen vorgenommen wurden, denen Translex zugestimmt hat.

2.

Honorare

2.1
Die Honorare für Übersetzungen bestimmen sich nach den Tarifen von Translex.
Übersetzungen werden nach Zeichen des Textes in der Zielsprache berechnet und nach Seiten verrechnet, wobei Folgendes gilt: 1 Zeile = 55 Anschläge, 1 Seite = 30 Zeilen.
Als Mindestpreis pro Auftrag werden EUR 50,- netto in Rechnung gestellt.
2.2
Leistungen, die an Aufwand den Rahmen einer einfachen Textverarbeitung überschreiten, werden nach Vereinbarung verrechnet (z.B. Vorlagen werden in speziellen Dateiformaten geliefert; eine besondere grafische Form, die eigene Software erfordert, wird vom Auftraggeber verlangt).
2.3
Der Zieltext (Ergebnis des Übersetzens) bildet die Berechnungsbasis, es sei denn es ist ein Pauschalhonorar vereinbart.
2.4
Ein schriftlicher Kostenvoranschlag wird nach bestem Fachwissen erstellt. Es kann jedoch keine Gewähr für dessen Richtigkeit übernommen werden.
Der Auftraggeber hat in jedem Fall die tatsächlichen, laut Punkt 2.1. berechneten Kosten der Übersetzung zu bezahlen.
2.5
Sofern nichts anderes vereinbart ist, können Auftragsänderungen oder Zusatzaufträge zu angemessenen Preisen in Rechnung gestellt werden.
2.6
Für die Überprüfung von Fremdübersetzungen kann das volle Honorar einer Erstübersetzung oder ein Stundenhonorar in Rechnung gestellt werden.
2.7

Für Express- und Wochenendarbeiten können angemessene Zuschläge verrechnet werden. Normalerweise betragen diese 20% für Erledigungen innerhalb von 48 Stunden und 50-100% für Erledigung innerhalb von 24 Stunden oder am selben Tag. Bei Großaufträgen sind angemessene Zuschläge für Express- und Wochenendarbeiten sowie der Zeitraum der Erledigung gesondert zu vereinbaren. Weitere Zuschläge kommen für multiple Verwendung von Übersetzungen (z.B. Musterverträge), für Veröffentlichungen (Publikationen) und für das Zugänglichmachen im Internet zur Anwendung.

3.

Lieferung

3.1
Hinsichtlich der Frist für die Lieferung der Übersetzung sind die beiderseitigen schriftlichen Erklärungen maßgebend. Ist das Lieferdatum ein wesentlicher Bestandteil des von Translex angenommenen Auftrages, so hat der Auftraggeber dies im Vorhinein ausdrücklich bekannt zu geben.
Voraussetzung für die Einhaltung der Lieferfrist ist der rechtzeitige Eingang sämtlicher vom Auftraggeber zu liefernden Unterlagen im angegebenen Umfang (z.B. Ausgangstexte und alle erforderlichen Hintergrundinformationen) sowie die Einhaltung der vereinbarten Zahlungs­bedingungen und sonstigen Verpflichtungen.
Werden diese Voraussetzungen nicht rechtzeitig erfüllt, so verlängert sich die Lieferfrist entsprechend.
3.2
Die Nichteinhaltung der Lieferfrist berechtigt den Auftraggeber nur dann zum Rücktritt vom Vertrag, wenn die Lieferfrist als fixe ausdrücklich vereinbart wurde (siehe Punkt 3.1 erster Absatz) und der Auftraggeber alle Voraussetzungen des Punktes 3.1 zweiter Absatz erfüllt hat. Schadenersatz­ansprüche des Auftraggebers sind ausgeschlossen, davon ausgenommen sind vorsätzlich oder grob fahrlässig verschuldete Schäden.
3.3
Wenn nichts anderes vereinbart ist, erfolgt die Lieferung per E-Mail.
3.4
Die mit der Lieferung verbundenen Gefahren trägt der Auftraggeber.
3.5
Ist nichts anderes vereinbart, so verbleiben die vom Auftraggeber Translex zur Verfügung gestellten Unterlagen nach Abschluss des Übersetzungsauftrages bei Translex. Translex hat keine Verpflichtung zur Aufbewahrung oder sonstigem Umgang damit, hat jedoch dafür zu sorgen, dass diese Unterlagen nicht vertragswidrig verwendet werden können.
3.6

Sämtliche gelieferten Unterlagen oder Dokumente bleiben bis zur vollständigen Zahlung der Honorarnote für die vorgenommene Leistung im Eigentum von Translex. Mit Veräußerung der gelieferten Unterlagen oder Dokumente tritt der Auftraggeber die Kaufpreisforderung an Translex ab.

4.

Höhere Gewalt

4.1
Für den Fall der höheren Gewalt hat Translex den Auftraggeber unverzüglich zu benachrichtigen. Höhere Gewalt berechtigt sowohl Translex als auch den Auftraggeber, vom Vertrag zurückzutreten. Der Auftraggeber hat Translex jedoch Ersatz für bereits getätigte Aufwendungen bzw. Leistungen zu geben.
4.2

Als höhere Gewalt sind insbesondere anzusehen:
Zufall; Arbeitskonflikte; Kriegshandlungen; Bürgerkrieg; Eintritt unvorhersehbarer Hindernisse, die nachweislich die Möglichkeit von Translex, den Auftrag vereinbarungsgemäß zu erledigen, entscheidend beeinträchtigen.

5.

Haftung für Mängel (Gewährleistung)

5.1
Sämtliche Mängelrügen wegen der Qualität der Übersetzung sind innerhalb von vier Wochen nach Lieferung (Senden per E-Mail) der Übersetzung geltend zu machen. Mängel müssen vom Auftraggeber in hinreichender Form schriftlich erläutert und nachgewiesen werden. Versteckte Mängel sind unverzüglich ab Kenntnis geltend zu machen, absolut jedoch binnen zwei Jahren ab Lieferung.
5.2
Zur Mängelbeseitigung hat der Auftraggeber Translex eine angemessene Frist zur Nachholung und Gelegenheit dazu zu gewähren. Verweigert er diese, so ist Translex von der Mängelhaftung befreit. Werden die Mängel innerhalb der angemessenen Frist von Translex behoben, so hat der Auftraggeber keinen Anspruch auf Preisminderung.
5.3
Wenn Translex die angemessene Nachfrist verstreichen lässt, ohne den Mangel zu beheben, kann der Auftraggeber vom Vertrag zurücktreten oder Herabsetzung der Vergütung (Minderung) verlangen. Im Falle des Vertragsrücktritts hat der Auftraggeber alle von Translex angefertigten Übersetzungen an Translex zurückzustellen und darf diese weder verwenden noch in irgendeiner Weise verwerten. Bei unwesentlichen Mängeln besteht weder ein Rücktritts- noch ein Minderungsrecht.
5.4
Gewährleistungsansprüche berechtigen den Auftraggeber nicht zur Zurückhaltung vereinbarter Zahlungen oder zur Aufrechnung.
5.5
Für Übersetzungen, die für Druckwerke verwendet werden, besteht eine Haftung für Mängel nur dann, wenn der Auftraggeber in seinem Auftrag ausdrücklich schriftlich bekannt gibt, dass er beabsichtigt, den Text zu veröffentlichen, und wenn Translex Korrekturfahnen vorgelegt werden (Autorkorrektur) bis einschließlich jener Fassung des Textes, nach der keinerlei Änderungen mehr vorgenommen werden. In diesem Fall ist Translex ein angemessener Kostenersatz für die Korrektur bzw. ein von Translex in Rechnung zu stellendes angemessenes Stundenhonorar zu bezahlen.
5.6
Für die Übersetzung von schwer lesbaren, unleserlichen bzw. unverständlichen Vorlagen besteht keinerlei Mängelhaftung. Dies gilt auch für Überprüfungen von Übersetzungen nach Punkt 2.6 und 5.5.
5.7
Stilistische Verbesserungen bzw. Abstimmungen von spezifischen Terminologien (insbesondere von branchen- bzw. firmeneigenen Termini) etc. werden nicht als Übersetzungsmängel anerkannt.
5.8
Für auftragsspezifische Abkürzungen, die vom Auftraggeber bei Auftragserteilung nicht angegeben bzw. erklärt wurden, besteht keinerlei Mängelhaftung.
5.9
Für die richtige Wiedergabe von Namen und Anschriften bei Vorlagen, die nicht in lateinischer Schrift gehalten sind, übernimmt Translex keinerlei Haftung. In solchen Fällen wird dem Auftraggeber empfohlen, die Schreibweise von Namen und Eigenbezeichnungen auf einem besonderen Blatt in lateinischer Blockschrift vorzunehmen und dieses Papier in eingescannter Form im pdf-Format, als tif-Datei oder als JPEG-Datei per elektronischer Post (E-Mail) an Translex zu senden. Dies gilt auch für schwer lesbare Namen, Anschriften und Zahlen in Personenstandsurkunden und sonstigen Dokumenten.
5.10
Die Zahlenwiedergabe erfolgt nur nach Manuskript. Für die Umrechnung von Zahlen, Maßen, Währungen und dergleichen wird keine Haftung übernommen.
5.11
Für vom Auftraggeber beigestellte Manuskripte, Originale und dergleichen haftet Translex, sofern diese nicht mit der Lieferung dem Auftraggeber zurückgegeben werden, als Verwahrer im Sinne des Allgemeinen Bürgerlichen Gesetzbuches für die Dauer von vier Wochen nach Fertigstellung des Auftrages.
Eine Pflicht zur Versicherung besteht nicht. Für die Rückerstattung gilt Punkt 3.5 sinngemäß.
5.12
Für die Bereitstellung von Übersetzern und Dolmetschern wird keinerlei Haftung übernommen, ausgenommen für durch die Auswahl vorsätzlich oder grob fahrlässig verursachte Schäden.
5.13
Für Korrekturleistungen nach Punkt 2.6 wird keine Haftung übernommen, wenn der Ausgangstext nicht zur Verfügung gestellt wird.
5.14

Bei Übermittlung von Übersetzungen mittels Datentransfer (wie z.B. E-Mail) besteht keine Haftung von Translex für dabei entstehende Mängel und Beeinträchtigungen (wie Virusübertragungen, Verletzung der Geheimhaltungspflichten), sofern nicht grobes Verschulden von Translex vorliegt. Der Auftraggeber stimmt ausdrücklich zu, dass sämtlicher Schriftverkehr von Translex trotz genereller Sicherheitsrisiken beim E-Mail-Verkehr auch per E-Mail erfolgen kann.

6.

Schadenersatz

6.1
Alle Schadenersatzansprüche gegen Translex sind, sofern nicht gesetzlich anderes zwingend vorgeschrieben ist, mit der Höhe des Rechnungsbetrages (netto) begrenzt. Ausgenommen von dieser Beschränkung des Schadenersatzes sind Fälle, in denen der Schaden grob fahrlässig oder vorsätzlich verursacht wurde. Eine Haftung für entgangenen Gewinn oder Folgeschäden besteht nicht, sofern nicht gesetzlich anderes zwingend vorgeschrieben ist.
6.2

Schadenersatzansprüche sind jedenfalls der Höhe nach mit einem Betrag von EUR 10.000,- begrenzt.

7.

Zahlung

7.1

Die Zahlung hat, sofern nichts anderes vereinbart wurde, bei Ausfolgung der Übersetzung in bar zu erfolgen oder unverzüglich nach Zugehen der Honorarnote durch Überweisung auf das von Translex bekannt gegebene Bankkonto.
Translex ist berechtigt, eine angemessene Akontozahlung zu verlangen. Bei großem Auftragsvolumen kann auch die Vorauszahlung der vollständigen Auftragssumme gefordert werden. Dies ist dem Auftraggeber vor Beginn der Tätigkeit mitzuteilen. Translex ist berechtigt, mit dem Beginn der Übersetzungsarbeiten bis zum vollständigen Erhalt der Akontozahlung zuzuwarten. Ist Abholung vereinbart und wird die Übersetzung vom Auftraggeber nicht zeitgerecht abgeholt, so tritt mit dem Tage der Bereitstellung der Übersetzung zur Abholung die Zahlungspflicht des Auftraggebers ein.

7.2
Tritt Zahlungsverzug ein, so ist Translex berechtigt, beigestellte Auftragsunterlagen (z.B. zu übersetzende Manuskripte) zurückzubehalten. Bei Zahlungsverzug werden Verzugszinsen in der Höhe von 8% zzgl. des Basiszinssatzes in Anrechnung gebracht. Für Konsumenten gilt der gesetzliche Zinssatz von 4%.
7.3

Bei Nichteinhaltung der zwischen dem Auftraggeber und Translex vereinbarten Zahlungsbedingungen ist Translex berechtigt, die Arbeit an den bei ihr liegenden Aufträgen so lange einzustellen, bis der Auftraggeber seinen Zahlungsverpflichtungen nachkommt. Dies gilt auch für Aufträge, bei denen eine fixe Lieferzeit vereinbart wurde (siehe Punkt 3.1). Ist der Wert der Zahlungsverpflichtung gegenüber dem Wert der Unterlage krass untergewichtig, so ist eine Rückbehaltung nur bis zum Wert der Zahlungsverpflichtung möglich.
Durch das Einstellen der Arbeit erwachsen einerseits dem Auftraggeber keinerlei Rechtsansprüche, andererseits wird Translex in ihren Rechten in keiner Weise präjudiziert.

8.

Urheberrecht

8.1
Translex ist nicht verpflichtet zu prüfen, ob dem Auftraggeber das Recht zusteht, die Ausgangstexte zu übersetzen bzw. übersetzen zu lassen, sondern ist berechtigt anzunehmen, dass dem Auftraggeber alle jene Rechte Dritten gegenüber zustehen, die für die Ausführung des Auftrages erforderlich sind. Der Auftraggeber sichert ausdrücklich zu, dass er über diese Rechte verfügt.
8.2
Der Auftraggeber erwirbt nur jene Rechte, die dem angegebenen Verwendungszweck entsprechen. Bei Veröffentlichungen ist Translex jedenfalls als Urheber der Übersetzung angemessen zu nennen.
8.3

Der Auftraggeber ist verpflichtet, Translex gegenüber allen Ansprüchen, die von Dritten aus der Verletzung von Urheberrechten, Leistungsschutzrechten, sonstigen gewerblichen Schutzrechten oder Persönlichkeitsschutzrechten erhoben werden, schadlos zu halten. Dies gilt auch dann, wenn der Auftraggeber keinen Verwendungszweck angibt bzw. die Übersetzung zu anderen als den angegebenen Zwecken verwendet.
Translex verpflichtet sich, dem Auftraggeber solche Ansprüche unverzüglich anzuzeigen und wird ihm bei gerichtlicher Inanspruchnahme den Streit verkünden. Tritt der Auftraggeber auf die Streitverkündung hin nicht als Streitgenosse von Translex dem Verfahren bei, so ist Translex berechtigt, den Anspruch des Klägers anzuerkennen und sich beim Auftraggeber ohne Rücksicht auf die Rechtmäßigkeit des anerkannten Anspruches schadlos zu halten.

9.

Verschwiegenheitspflicht

 

Translex ist zur Verschwiegenheit verpflichtet. Sie hat dafür Sorge zu tragen, dass von ihr Beauftragte sich zur Verschwiegenheit verpflichten. Für die Nichteinhaltung dieser Verpflichtung durch die Beauftragten haftet Translex nicht, ausgenommen bei grobem Verschulden bei der Auswahl des Beauftragten.

10.

Erfüllungsort, anwendbares Recht, Gerichtsstand

 

Erfüllungsort ist Wien. Es wird die Anwendung österreichischen Rechts unter Ausschluss der Verweisungsnormen des österreichischen Rechts und unter Ausschluss des UN-Kaufrechts und dessen Verweisungsnormen vereinbart. Als Gerichtsstand wird das sachlich zuständige Gericht für den 1. Wiener Gemeindebezirk vereinbart, sofern die Bestimmungen des Konsumenten­schutzgesetzes keine zwingenden abweichenden Vorschriften vorsehen. Soweit Auftraggeber nicht aus dem EWR stammen, steht es Translex frei, anstelle des oben vereinbarten Gerichts den Auftraggeber vor einem allgemeinen Gericht am Sitz des Auftraggebers zu verklagen oder aber ein gemäß den Regeln des Internationalen Schiedsgerichtes bei der Wirtschaftskammer Österreich errichtetes Schiedsgericht anzurufen (Wiener Regeln), und der Auftraggeber unterwirft sich ausdrücklich dieser Gerichtsstandswahl und nach Wahl von Translex auch dieser Schiedsgerichtswahl.

11.

Verbindlichkeit des Vertrages

 

Der Vertrag bleibt auch bei rechtlicher Unwirksamkeit einzelner Punkte in seinen übrigen Teilen verbindlich.

 

Stand: März 2014

Die allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen der Translex Büro für juristische Fachübersetzungen GmbH stehen Ihnen auch als PDF Dokument oder Microsoft Word Dokument zur Verfügung.

 

Translex Büro für juristische Fachübersetzungen GmbH
Siebensterngasse 16
1070 Wien
Tel.: +43 1 526 84 78
Fax: +43 1 526 84 89
E-Mail: translex@translex.at
Web: www.translex.at